Press Release

Every Game, All Season Long: MLS ON TSN Kicks Off its Complete Coverage of Vancouver Whitecaps FC This Saturday

– Vancouver Whitecaps FC’s home and season opener vs. New York Red Bulls airs live this Saturday at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on TSN and TEAM Radio 1410 Vancouver –

– MLS ON TSN: SEASON PREVIEW SPECIAL airs tonight at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on TSN2 –



TSN 

To tweet this release: http://bit.ly/1gVqTvF

VANCOUVER (March 6, 2014) MLS ON TSN, the new and exclusive home of Vancouver Whitecaps FC, kicks off its amplified coverage of the team this Saturday (March 8) at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT with Whitecaps FC’s home and season opener vs. New York Red Bulls.

TSN primes Vancouver fans for the start of the 2014 season with MLS on TSN: Season Preview Special airing tonight (Thursday, March 6) at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on TSN2 (encore tomorrow night at 3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT on TSN2). The 30-minute preview recaps Whitecaps FC’s offseason, looks at the team’s upcoming season, and features an interview with head coach Carl Robinson.

Later on in the season, TSN celebrates the Whitecaps FC’s 40th anniversary with a special pre-game show leading into the team’s home game vs. San Jose Earthquakes on Saturday, May 3. The 30-minute show highlights the team’s history almost 40 years to the day since the franchise’s inaugural game.

MLS ON TSN’s acclaimed broadcast team of Luke Wileman, Jason deVos, and Kristian Jack return to cover Whitecaps FC games. Also handling broadcasting duties this season are Vic Rauter, Nigel Reed, and Greg Sutton, along with longtime Whitecaps FC radio voice Peter Schaad, who will call select games on the broadcast side.

Schaad will continue to lead play-by-play commentary for TEAM Radio 1410 Vancouver’s exclusive coverage of Whitecaps FC alongside colour commentator David Norman, a former Whitecaps FC midfielder and Canadian international.

Throughout the season, TEAM Radio delivers live coverage of every game, which includes extensive pre- and post-game coverage. Schaad will also bring fans news, insight, and behind-the-scenes content surrounding Whitecaps FC on TEAM Radio and TEAMRadio.ca, with the station also delivering a daily MLS report and a weekly 30-minute show on Thursdays at 6 p.m. PT.

TEAM Radio recently announced a multi-year extension of its broadcast rights agreement with Whitecaps FC. This extension complements Bell’s multi-year partnership with Vancouver Whitecaps FC. As part of the partnership, TSN becomes the official Whitecaps FC broadcaster beginning this season and Bell extends its Premier Founding Partnership with the team, which includes Bell branding of all Whitecaps FC official men’s and women’s jerseys and kits.

Soccer on Bell Media
Along with being the exclusive home of Vancouver Whitecaps FC, TSN is the official broadcaster of MLS in Canada. In addition, Bell Media’s CTV, TSN, and RDS are home to EURO 2016 and the FIFA World Cup, beginning with the highly-anticipated FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 in Canada and including the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ and 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar™. TSN also holds a multi-year broadcast agreement with BARCLAYS PREMIER LEAGUE that gives TSN the Canadian media rights to half of all games through to the 2015-2016 season.

Broadcast Schedule
MLS ON TSN’s broadcast schedule of Vancouver Whitecaps FC is as follows:

March
Saturday, March 8

  • New York @ Vancouver at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on TSN

Sunday, March 16

  • Vancouver @ Chivas at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on CTV Two BC

Saturday, March 22

  • Vancouver @ New England at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT on CTV BC

Saturday, March 29

  • Houston @ Vancouver at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on TSN2

April
Saturday, April 5

  • Colorado @ Vancouver at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT on CTV BC

Saturday, April 12

  • Vancouver @ Los Angeles at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, April 19

  • Los Angeles @ Vancouver at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on TSN2

Saturday, April 26

  • Vancouver @ Salt Lake at 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT on TSN2

May

Saturday, May 3

  • San Jose @ Vancouver at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT on TSN2

Saturday, May 10

  • Vancouver @ Columbus  at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on TSN2

Saturday, May 24

  • Seattle @ Vancouver at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on TSN2

June
Sunday, June 1

  • Vancouver @ Portland at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT on TSN2

Saturday, June 7

  • Vancouver @ Philadelphia at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on TSN

Wednesday, June 25

  • Montreal @ Vancouver at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, June 28

  • Vancouver @ Colorado at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT on TSN

July
Saturday, July 5

  • Seattle @ Vancouver at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on TSN2

Saturday, July 12

  • Chivas @ Vancouver at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on TSN2

Wednesday, July 16

  • Vancouver @ Toronto at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, July 19

  • Vancouver @ Salt Lake at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on TSN

Sunday, July 27

  • Dallas @ Vancouver at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT on TSN

Wednesday, July 30

  • Vancouver @ Chicago at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT on TSN

August
Sunday, Aug. 10

  • Kansas City @ Vancouver at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, Aug. 16

  • Vancouver @ Chivas at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, Aug. 23

  • Vancouver @ Los Angeles at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT on TSN2

Saturday, Aug. 30

  • Portland @ Vancouver at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT on TSN2

September

Saturday, Sept. 6

  • DC @ Vancouver at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on TSN

Wednesday, Sept. 10

  • San Jose @ Vancouver at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, Sept. 13

  • Vancouver @ Dallas at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT on TSN2

Saturday, Sept. 20

  • Vancouver @ Portland at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, Sept. 27

  • Real Salt Lake @ Vancouver at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on TSN2

October
Saturday, Oct. 4

  • Dallas @ Vancouver at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on TSN2

Friday, Oct. 10

  • Vancouver @ Seattle at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, Oct. 18

  • Vancouver @ San Jose at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT on TSN

Saturday, Oct. 25

  • Colorado @ Vancouver at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on TSN2

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS
Visit TSN.ca/Twitter to follow all of TSN’s on-air personalities
@lukewileman
@jasondevos
@kristianjack
@TSNVicRauter
@Nigel_Reed
@gsutz24
@PeteSchaad
@MLSonTSN
@WhitecapsFC
#MLS #TSN

Facebook.com/TSN

YouTube.com/TSNCanada

Instagram.com/TSN_Official

Google.ca/+TSN

TSN is Canada's Sports Leader and #1 specialty network. With a broad portfolio of multimedia sports assets, TSN delivers world-class content across industry-leading platforms including TSN2, TSN.ca, TSN Radio and TSN Mobile TV. Official broadcaster of the Grey Cup, IIHF World Junior Championship and FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015, TSN’s slate of live sports coverage includes NHL, CFL, NFL, NBA, MLS, Season of Champions Curling, UEFA Euro 2016, MLB, Barclays Premier League, Golf’s Majors, NASCAR Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Canadian Tire Series, F1, Grand Slam Tennis, NCAA March Madness, and Skate Canada events. TSN is a division of Bell Media, which is part of BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. 

- TSN -

For More Information:
Greg McIsaac, (w) 416.384.5180, (c) 416.458.3591, greg.mcisaac@bellmedia.ca
Renee Rouse, (w) 416.384.7599, (c) 416.428.4807, renee.rouse@bellmedia.ca
Dimitri Bariamis, (w) 416.384.5665, (c) 416.575.2601, dimitri.bariamis@bellmedia.ca

Twitter: @TSN_PR